POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. — APR. 30, 2024 — Dutchess Community College held its annual Eugene Sheridan Awards ceremony on April 25, which honors student achievement in the social sciences. 

Two History, Government and Economics (HGE) Departmental Awards for Outstanding Achievement in the Social Sciences were presented. Awardees were Yassmine Chanaoui (Wappingers Falls) and Michael A. Gattine-Suarez (Kingston).

Ashley K. Carson (Highland) was awarded the Ann and Dan Zodikoff Memorial Scholarship.

Ryan J. Scott (Hyde Park) was presented with the Xavier H. Verbeck Memorial Award in honor of Xavier H. Verbeck, who taught in the HGE Department from 1963-1992 and who also served as department chair. 

Nicole Ciardullo (Poughkeepsie) received the Eugene Sheridan Award in honor of Eugene A. Sheridan, Jr. who taught in the HGE department from 1966-1973.

# # #

Founded in 1957, Dutchess Community College is a two-year community college that has earned a reputation for providing an outstanding education with the lowest tuition in New York state. The College currently has four locations including its main campus in Poughkeepsie, DCC @ Fishkill, DCC @ HVR Airport, and DCC @ the Partnership. For more information visit www.sunydutchess.edu.