Maya Chinkan, student trustee, and Evelyn S. Panichi, co-owner of Royal Carting Service Co. and Welsh Sanitation, were recently appointed to the Dutchess Community College Board of Trustees.     

Panichi was appointed by the Dutchess County Legislature for a term that will expire in 2030, and Chinkan was elected by the student body, per Section 6306 (as amended) of the Education Law of the State of New York, for a term that will expire in 2024.

Chinkan, a general studies major on the nursing track at DCC, is passionate about making a difference in the lives of others – both by serving as the voice of her peers in her new role and pursuing her long-term career goal of becoming a nurse practitioner.

Panichi, a lifelong resident of Dutchess County, has devoted herself to a number of causes in the community, having held board and trustee positions in hospitals, arts organizations, schools and more. Panichi has earned a number of awards for her service, including DCCs Falcon Award for Business Excellence, Saint Francis Hospital’s Franciscan Award and WMC Health’s Spirit of Giving Award. She and her family have also been honored by Walkway Over the Hudson, the Greater Southern Dutchess Chamber of Commerce and the Exchange Club of Southern Dutchess.  

DCC Board Chairman Michael Dupree said, "My fellow trustees and I are excited to have Maya Chinkan as our new student trustee, as well as Evelyn Panichi, whose professional stature in the county is legendary. The College is so fortunate that they both expressed strong interest in joining our board, and their energy, financial oversight and dedication to seeing young people learn and grow will help continue DCC's post-COVID evolution."   

The President of DCC shared, “We are so pleased to welcome these two new board members. Both bring unique perspectives to the Board of Trustees and we anticipate that their guidance will be instrumental as we begin the work of implementing the College’s 2023-28 Strategic Plan.”

Other members of the DCC Board of Trustees are Angela Flesland, Darrah Cloud, Frank Castella Jr., Stephen Caswell, Lisa Ghartey, Ibis Guzman and Linda Pratt.