Four Named to DCC Board, New Chair Elected

October 25, 2018 – The Dutchess Community College Board of Trustees named a new chair and welcomed four new members during its September and October meetings.

Dan Kuffner, a governor-appointed College trustee since 2013, was elected board chair, filling the position vacated by Thomas LeGrand, who retired from the board last month after 22 years of service. New members filling vacancies created by term expirations are Angela Flesland ‘06, Lisa Ghartey, Gregg Pulver and Student Trustee Erich Behrendt.

Kuffner is a former Dutchess County Legislator who served on numerous committees, and also as liaison between the legislature and the DCC Board. He retired from teaching after more than 30 years in the Hyde Park Central School District and was the owner of Kuffner Painting for 27 years.

Flesland, appointed by the Dutchess County Legislature, is a cardiothoracic nurse at Vassar Brothers Medical Center. She served as a Dutchess County legislator between 2008 and 2017 where she served as assistant majority leader and then as majority leader. Earlier this year she was inducted into the Dutchess Community College Alumni Hall of Fame.

Ghartey, appointed by the governor’s office, serves as assistant commissioner of Child Welfare and Community Services for the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. She also is a member of the judicial screening committee to review candidates in the Third Judicial Department of New York.

Pulver, a county appointee, began his first term as chair of the Dutchess County Legislature in January after having served two terms as a legislator. His past experience includes Town of Pine Plains supervisor and member of the Pine Plains Central School District Board of Education.

Other members of the DCC Board of Trustees are Michael Francis Dupree (vice chair), Betsy Brown (secretary), Sheila Appel, Barbara Hugo and Timmian Massie.