A new four-hour course specifically designed to get younger motorists aged 16-24 to take responsibility for their driving behaviors. This program already has been adopted by many states and courts as a response to younger drivers receiving tickets for speeding, cell phone, texting and other moving violations.
Alive@25 will be offered at both the Wappingers and Poughkeepsie campuses.
Call 431-8910 for details and program schedule. Program fee is $50.
DRV001 NEW YORK STATE “FIVE-HOUR” PRE-LICENSING COURSE
In order to obtain a driver’s license in New York, NYS DMV requires that all permit holders successfully complete a five-hour program. Requirements: Pre-registration required.
Must bring NYS Permit.
Arrive at scheduled time for processing—late arrivals will not be admitted.
DCC Main Campus
5093 10 5:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (W) 5/21 DCC G Woods $41
5094 11 5:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (W) 6/18 DCC G Woods $41
5095 12 5:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (W) 7/16 DCC G Woods $41
5096 13 5:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. (W) 8/13 DCC G Woods $41
5097 90 4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (T) 5/27 DS C Firehock $41
5098 91 4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (T) 6/10 DS C Firehock $41
5099 92 4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (T) 7/8 DS C Firehock $41
5100 93 4:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. (T) 8/12 DS C Firehock $41
DRV102 TRAFFIC SAFETY AND DRIVER EDUCATION
Learn proper driving techniques, laws and responsibilities applicable to driving in New York state. Successful completion of this 48-hour course (24 classroom/24 on-road driving instruction) includes the five-hour NYS Pre-Licensing course (listed above), certificate earned meets requirement to schedule a road test and earn a senior license by age 17, possible high school credit (check with district) and an approximate 10-15% premium insurance reduction.
Requirements: 16 years old and hold a NYS Permit or License by July 27, 2014.
Pre-register prior to orientation. Mandatory attendance for all classes.
Required Text: “Drive Right” 11th Edition by Ronald Budig available at the DCC Bookstore.
MANDATORY ORIENTATION: Wed., July 23 from 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. at Dutchess South. Parents are strongly encouraged to attend with student. Road hours are assigned at orientation in the order registrations were received, so register as soon as you are sure you have the flexibility in your schedule to attend all required hours as outlined below.
Class hours start Mon., July 28 and end Thurs., Aug 21 from 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Road hours are scheduled in 90-minute blocks of time on Mon.-Thurs. from 1:30 p.m. – 3 p.m. and 3 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Register early in order to pick your road hours.
5101 90 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. (MTWR) 7/28-8/21 DS C Firehock $495
DRV201 POINT AND INSURANCE REDUCTION PROGRAM
This NYS-DMV approved six-hour class entitles licensed drivers or permit holders to a 10% reduction in their liability, collision and No-Fault insurance. Topics include review of safe driving tips as well as updated vehicle and traffic laws. Completion of this class can reduce up to four points off your record. (6 Hours)
Pre-registration required. Late arrivals will not be admitted.
5102 10 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. (M) 6/9-6/16 DCC M Sheehan $42
5103 11 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. (M) 8/11-8/18 DCC M Sheehan $42