Music Performance Certificate Program

Program Description: DCC offers a wide variety of affordable music courses, all of which are open to non-music majors, along with an associate degree in the performing arts (Music Advisement Track) and the Music Performance Certificate that prepare students to transfer as music majors.


Contemporary/pop - Vocal Repertoire, Electronic Music Workshop

Musical Theatre - Theatre Practicum (fully staged musical for fall 2013: Rent), History of American Music Theater, Vocal Repertoire

Jazz - Jazz: Its History and Influence, Jazz Improvisation

Classical - Theory I-II, Aural Skills I-II, History of Music

Instructors: Private Instruction (1-3 credit lessons available in all styles of music for 30-90 min/wk; financial aid can be used to pay for lessons.):

  • Dr. Christopher Brellochs (saxophone, composition, conducting), Chair of the Music Certificate Program
  • Ann Foster (voice)
  • Elizabeth Gerbi (voice)
  • John Howell (voice)
  • Helen Avakian (guitar, singer-songwriter)
  • Steve Raleigh (jazz guitar)
  • Dan Stevens (guitar, mandolin)
  • Dr. Dorcinda Knauth (piano, organ)
  • Cynthia Peterson (classical piano)
  • Larry Ham (jazz piano)
  • Tom Melito (drums, percussion)
  • Julie Donato (flute)
  • John Knight (bassoon, clarinet, saxophone)
  • Jim Osborn (trumpet, French horn, trombone)
  • Heeja Questad (violin, viola)
  • Jean Vilkelis (cello)
  • Lou Pappas (bass)

Ensembles: Chorus, Chamber Choir, Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Guitar Consort

Student Clubs: Masquer's Guild (produces fully staged Broadway revues and plays), Jazz Club

After DCC: Transfer Colleges (DCC graduates have been accepted to): Crane School of Music, SUNY Fredonia, SUNY New Paltz, SUNY Oneonta, Hunter College, Brooklyn College, The New School, William Patterson, College of St. Rose, Western Connecticut State University, Berklee College of Music, Longy School of Music of Bard College, Northwestern University.

For more information: e-mail MPC Program Chair Christopher Brellochs at or contact the Admissions Office.