Thirty-Five Students Receive Awards from DCC Teachers Union

May 6, 2014 – Dutchess United Educators (DUE), the teachers union of Dutchess Community College, honored 35 students for academic achievement at the 29th Annual DUE Awards for Academic Excellence on April 30.

Nineteen students were nominated by professors for individual DUE Awards, while 16 others received special awards, which are given by entire academic departments or in honor of past DCC faculty and staff members.

The 19 individual award winners were: Kendall Anderson (Dover Plains), Wayne Bennin (Wappingers Falls), Emerson Coulthrust (Poughkeepsie), Melinda D’Alessio (Poughkeepsie), Gina Dellagala (Hopewell Junction), James Devens (Poughkeepsie), Sarah Erts (Dover Plains), Ryan Glinski (Fishkill), Peter Haylett (Poughkeepsie), Allison Horne-Minott, (Poughkeepsie), Kerri LaCour (Patterson), Gail Mackenzie (Pleasant Valley), Tara Omuleski (Poughkeepsie), Katrina Pardee (Hyde Park), Desiree Thomas (Poughkeepsie), Yoshinori Tsuji (Toyonaka, Osaka, Japan), Nicole Wheeler (Dover Plains), Joshua Wright (Poughkeepsie) and Louis Zapp (Elizaville).

The 16 special award winners were as follows: Frank Apollo (Wappingers Falls), Chelsea Relyea (Red Hook), Jonathan Flynn (Hyde Park), Weston Baines (Poughkeepsie), Matthew Perl (Wappingers Falls), Megan Brainerd (Poughkeepsie), Lucia Spano (Pleasant Valley), Larissa Alvarado (Poughkeepsie), Abigail Nohai (Hopewell Junction), Shan Hemwani (Poughkeepsie), Rosia Kittel (Tivoli), Caitlin Holt (Wappingers Falls), Matthew Cerasaro (Hyde Park), Rachel Puchkoff (Poughkeepsie), Keara Wright (Saugerties) and Paulina Weiss (Poughkeepsie).

In addition, recently retired DCC faculty member Yvonne Sewell was presented with 2014 DUE Honorary Award recognizing her career-long contributions to supporting academic excellence at DCC.