Thirty-One Students Receive Awards from DCC Teachers Union

May 8, 2013 – Dutchess United Educators (DUE), the teachers union of Dutchess Community College, recently honored 31 students for academic excellence at the 28th Annual DUE Awards for Academic Excellence.

Sixteen students were nominated by professors for individual DUE Awards, while 15 other students received special awards, which are given by entire academic departments or in honor of past DCC faculty and staff members.

The 16 individual award winners were: Kim Bashualdo (New Windsor), Dulce Celaya (Tivoli), Bhawneet Chadha (Poughkeepsie), Andrea Conneely (Hopewell Junction), Michelle Correa (Wappingers Falls), Victoria Culver (Wappingers Falls), Amy Flamio (Wappingers Falls), Amy Fuerst (Pleasant Valley), Michelle Iannotta (Ulster Park), Bianca Keesler, (Poughkeepsie), Aschley Perez (Milton), Samantha Rizza (Hopewell Junction), Jonathan Schmierer (Hopewell Junction), Nargis Sultan (Beacon), Zama Traore (New Paltz) and Lisa Witteck (Poughkeepsie).

The 15 special award winners were as follows: Sharley McIver-Jones (Poughkeepsie), the Department of Behavioral Sciences Award in Honor of Carl Denti; Andrew Roepe (Montgomery), the Department of Business Award; Donovan Borger (Stanfordville), the Department of English and Humanities Award in Creative Writing; Corinne Credendino (Garrison), the Department of Mathematics, Physical and Computer Sciences Award in Mathematics; Rachel Baird (Wappingers Falls), the Department of Nursing Award; Claire Vandenberg (Pine Plains), the Founders’ Award in Memory of Cynthia Feldman; Michelle Ban (Beacon), the Visual Arts Award in Memory of Lowell Butler; Tamar Hedges (Pine Plains), the Visual Arts Award in Ceramics in Memory of Lynette McKinney; John Obee (Poughkeepsie), the Physical Sciences Award in Memory of Richard P. O’Connor; Jan Jaminal (Poughkeepsie), the Biological Sciences Award in Memory of Rochel Stein; Elisabeth Balachova (Hopewell Jumction), the Business Technologies Award in Memory of George N. Freedman; Donald Byfield (Poughkeepsie), the Academic Excellence Award in Memory of Sabra Toback; Reba Canning (Wappingers Falls), the Academic Award in Honor of Mary Louise Van Winkle; Kayla DelBiondo (Hopewell Junction), the Political Science Award in Honor of Richard Reitano; and Amanda Federico (Poughkeepsie), the Legacy Award in Honor of Lewis Krevolin.

In addition, recently retired DCC faculty members Richard MacNamee and George Stevens were presented with 2013 DUE Honorary Awards recognizing their career-long contributions to supporting academic excellence at DCC.