Forty-six Earn Coveted DCC Scholarship


October 16, 2013 – Forty-six Dutchess Community College freshmen were formally awarded the 2013 Charles E. and Mabel E. Conklin Scholarship for Academic Excellence recently, joining family members and DCC staff members for a luncheon on campus. When combined with the Conklin scholars who began at DCC last fall, more than 70 students currently are benefiting from the initiative.

The Conklin Scholarship provides two years of full tuition for any Dutchess County high school student who graduates in the top 10% of his or her class. DCC attracts more top 10% students from Dutchess County than does any other single college or university. Conklin scholars and other high-achieving students have gone on to top four-year colleges – including Cornell, RPI, Smith, Vassar, Marist and SUNY schools - after graduating from DCC.

“As valedictorian of Millbrook High School I had a lot of options and applied to several top colleges,” said award recipient Emma Lomangino, who plans to pursue biomedical engineering. “When my family and I looked at the quality of the education provided at DCC – and the fact that I could attend tuition free – the decision was clear. I have great professors and really love it here … I definitely made the right choice.”

The Charles E. and Mabel E. Conklin Scholarships for Academic Excellence are made possible through generous gifts from the Conklins and the Dutchess Community College Foundation. The Conklins are of no relation to DCC President Dr. D. David Conklin.

Names of this fall’s Conklin Scholars and high school from which they graduated follow. For more information on the scholarship, call (845) 431-8015.


Founded in 1957, Dutchess Community College is a two-year community college that has earned a reputation for providing an outstanding education at the lowest tuition in New York state. Its main campus is in Poughkeepsie, with a satellite campus in Wappingers Falls. For more information, visit

Esthefany Aguilar (Poughkeepsie), Sarah Babcock (Franklin D. Roosevelt), John Barry (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Nicole Boyles (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Alexandra Bradford (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Trevor Cohn (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Monica Coronel (Roy C. Ketcham), Jeffrey Cotter (Rhinebeck), Antonio Damore (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Thomas D’Ascanio (Dover), Laura Demetros (Beacon), Michelle Dewey (Roy C. Ketcham), Nicole Farmer (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Kelsey Farrar (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Jennifer Galvin (Poughkeepsie), Aimee Gifford (John Jay), Sean Goodman (Upton Lake Christian), Morgan Haneman (Dover), Daria Hanssen (Dover), Maria Herrera (Beacon), Ellexis Hoerl (John Jay), Casey Jurutka (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Hena Kalola (Beacon), Angelica Leon (Orchard Hill Alternative), Emma Lomangino (Millbrook), Thomas Marston (Dover), Christina McGovern (John Jay), Thomas McCoart, (Roy C. Ketcham), Sarah Milkowski Dahlgren (Stissing Mountain), Christopher Miranda (Poughkeepsie), Nikki Moravec (Arlington), Heather Murphy (Beacon), Lucy Oakes (Beacon), Charlotte Peterson (Red Hook), Roxanne Peterson (Dover), Michael Pezzullo (Franklin D. Roosevelt), Daniel Planck-Kuney (Orchard View), Alexandria Prashad (Arlington), Zachary Remling (Millbrook), Jacob Rowland (Roy C. Ketcham), Stephanie Schneck (Poughkeepsie), Lana Tatai (Roy C. Ketcham), Chantel Thompson (Poughkeepsie), Brienne Thornton (Beacon), Mark Toujiline (Beacon) and Annelise Vasti (Arlington).