Thirty-Four Earn Coveted DCC Scholarship

October 11, 2012 – Thirty-four Dutchess Community College freshmen were formally awarded the 2012 Charles E. and Mabel E. Conklin Scholarship for Academic Excellence recently, joining family members and Mr. Conklin for a luncheon on campus. When combined with the Conklin scholars who began at DCC last fall, approximately 75 students currently are benefiting from the initiative.
The Conklin Scholarship provides two years of full tuition for any Dutchess County high school student who graduates in the top 10% of his or her class. DCC attracts more top 10% students from Dutchess County than any other single college or university. Conklin scholars have gone on to top four-year colleges – including Cornell, RPI, Smith, Vassar, Marist and SUNY schools - after graduating from DCC.
The Charles E. and Mabel E. Conklin Scholarships for Academic Excellence are made possible through generous gifts from the Conklins and the Dutchess Community College Foundation.
Names of this fall’s Conklin Scholars and high school from which they graduated follow. For more information on the scholarship, call (845) 431-8015.
Weston Baines (Roy C. Ketcham), Annmarie Borner (Dover), Bruce Carman (Dover), Alix Ciferri (Poughkeepsie), Jennifer Cronin (John Jay), James Devens (F.D. Roosevelt), Erika Diaz (Pawling), Kailey Diedrick (John Jay), Sarah Dowling (Red Hook), Joseph Dunstan (John Jay), Sarah Erts (Dover), David Foote (F.D. Roosevelt), Alicia Garricks (Poughkeepsie), Clinton Hastings (Arlington), Erin Hein (F.D. Roosevelt), Caitlin Holt (Roy C. Ketcham), Danielle Johnson (Our Lady of Lourdes), Angelika Juerss (Millbrook), Megan King (Arlington), Allison Knowles (Beacon), Franjanice Mitchell (Beacon), Justyce Mitchelle (Poughkeepsie), Andrea Monteleone (F.D. Roosevelt), Kayla Pardee (F.D. Roosevelt), Joseph Pendleton (Beacon), Leah Marie Pica (Red Hook), Alexandra Puterio (Dutchess BOCES), Sharron Rascoe (Beacon), Mallory Rutkoske (Beacon), Patrick Rymar (Poughkeepsie), Nicole Tatro (John Jay), Matthew Travagline (John Jay), Nicole Wuersching (Roy C. Ketcham), Claire Zeyher (Stissing Mountain)