Nine DCC Students Earn State, National Honors

April 11, 2014 – Five Dutchess Community College students recently were presented with the 2014 State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence, while four others were recognized by national honor society Phi Theta Kappa.

“Students honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, and those recognized by Phi Theta Kappa, truly embody the power of SUNY,” said Nancy Zimpher, SUNY chancellor. “As proven leaders and role models, scholar athletes, creative artists and civic volunteers, each student is recognized not just for academic achievement, but also for the profound impact they have on college campuses and local communities across New York state. Congratulations to all of the students being recognized.”

The Chancellor’s Award winners are Angelika Juerss, Clinton Corners; Rosia Kittel, Red Hook; Yoshinori Tsuji, Toyonaka, Osaka, Japan; Keara Wright, Saugerties; and Joshua Wright, Poughkeepsie. More than 250 students from 64 SUNY campuses were given the honor this year, which recognizes the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in leadership, athletics, community service, performing arts, campus involvement and career achievement.

Andrea Monteleone of Staatsburg earned second Academic Team honors from Phi Theta Kappa, while Clinton Hastings of Hyde Park, Erin Hein of Poughkeepsie and Austin Hill of Lagrangeville earned third Academic Team accolades. A total of 68 students across the SUNY and City University of New York systems were recognized. Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. Academic Team honorees are evaluated not only on academic achievement, but also leadership and community service.