Six From DCC Receive SUNY Chancellor's Awards

September 16, 2013 – Dutchess Community College’s Dr. Ellen Gambino, associate dean of Academic Affairs, and Renee Lathrop, associate professor of Physics, have been awarded 2013 State University of New York Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. Four DCC students also were selected to receive the award.

Gambino was awarded the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service. Since coming to the College in 2006, Gambino has provided leadership in Academic Affairs working with faculty and staff on curriculum, academic assessment, faculty hiring and professional staff development.  She has led committees to develop initiatives to support student success including a new developmental math curriculum and online tutoring.  Gambino has also served on various campus committees including Curriculum Committee, Academic Standards, Professional Staff Development, the DCC Mentoring Program for administrative staff and the Eleanor Roosevelt Valkill Community College Leadership Program Steering Committee.

Lathrop received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. She began her career at DCC in 2003 and was promoted to associate professor in 2013. She is DCC’s representative to the SUNY Faculty Council of Community Colleges, and has served in other leadership roles including as president of the Association of Women at Dutchess Community College and chair of the Academic Standards Committee. She also was a member-at-large for the Professional Staff Organization, a member of the Curriculum Committee and has contributed to DCC youth outreach initiatives such as Math and Science Matter … Especially for Young Women and the Hudson Valley FIRST Lego League competitions.

In presenting the faculty and staff awards on behalf of SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher, DCC President Dr. D. David Conklin said, “Both Ellen and Renee are dedicated professionals who contribute significantly to the academic excellence of our institution, and are very deserving of this recognition.”

Four DCC students received the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence. Kayla DelBiondo of Hopewell Junction, Amy Fuerst of Pleasant Valley, Lauren Molella of Millbrook and Tristan Zukowski of Poughkeepsie were among the 243 students from 64 SUNY campuses presented with the honor.

The Chancellor's Awards for Excellence were established to provide system-wide recognition of superb performance and achievement.